Navigation und Service der Hansestadt Greifswald

Springe direkt zu:

UBC - Union of the Baltic Cities

The Union of the Baltic Cities is an association of 88 cities from the ten nations bordering the Baltic Sea. It serves as a decentralized network of cross-border municipal cooperation in the Baltic region.

The Union of the Baltic Cities (UBC) was founded in Gdańsk in September 1991 after the fall of the Iron Curtain by 32 cities in the Baltic region. The basis for their cooperation is a commitment to the common development of democracy, business, social welfare, culture and environmental protection in the respective member cities.

Membership serves to facilitate both the sharing of information in all fields as well as project-related cooperation with individual member cities in areas of focus.

The highest body of the UBC is the General Conference. It meets every two years in one of the member towns. The General Conference elects an Executive Council, of which one city from each of the Baltic States is a member. In addition to the Executive Board, the UBC consists of 13 committees.

The University and Hanseatic City of Greifswald was admitted to the Union of the Baltic Cities at the General Conference in Stockholm in September 1999.

Since 2013, the UBC has been developing a new, forward-looking strategy paper. All the member cities pool their joint efforts in 9 committees.

There is also a working group on gender equality as well as a UBC communication network.

Interested citizens and institutions from Greifswald are called upon to participate in the work in the committees.